Sydney International Piano Competition: Andrey Gugnin in Recital

Saturday 29 July 2017

Verbrugghen Hall

Level 3, Sydney Conservatorium of Music

This concert is part of the 40th Anniversary year celebrations of the Sydney International Piano Competition. 2016’s winner will tour Australia from the end of June to the beginning of September. This will be his main solo recital in Sydney.


$55 adult | $49 concession | $20 students | $47 groups of 5 or more

Please click here for tickets

Andrey Gugnin graduated from the Tchaikovsky Moscow State Conservatory in 2010, where he studied under Professor Vera Gornostaeva; since 2016 he has been studying at the International Piano Academy Lake Como with Stanislav Ioudenitch and William Nabore.

Andrey is the winner of the Ernest Hutcheson First Prize of the 2016 Sydney International Piano Competition. He is also the winner of the Eileen Joyce Best Overall Concerto Prize, the Miriam Hyde Best 19th or 20th Century Concerto Prize, the Hephzibah Menuhin Best Violin and Piano Sonata Prize and the Roger Smalley Best Preliminaries Round 1 Recital Prize.

Andrey has toured as a recitalist, a chamber music partner and as a concerto soloist, performing at Carnegie Hall in New York, Abravanel Hall in Salt Lake City, at the Eastman School of Music, the Great Hall of the Moscow State Conservatory, the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall in Moscow, the Moscow International House of Music, the Louvre, Teatro Verdi in Trieste and in Vienna’s Musikverein. He has collaborated with the State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia, the St. Petersburg Cappella Symphony Orchestra, the Netherlands Symphony Orchestra and the Asko Schonberg Ensemble, among others.

He has been a guest artist at the Ruhr Piano Festival, Mariinsky International Piano Festival, Ohrid Summer Festival, Zagreb Summer Evenings Festival and the Bermuda Islands Performing Arts Festival, among others.


Johann Sebastian Bach: Adagio in G Major BWV 968 (6 min)

Franz Schubert:
Piano Sonata No.17 in D Major D.850 (40 min)
I. Allegro vivace
II. Con moto
III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
IV. Rondo. Allegretto moderato

–//– Interval –//–

Dmitri Shostakovich: Piano Sonata No.1 Op.12 (10 min)

Leonid Desyatnikov: “Reminiscences of the Theatre” (1985) (16 min)
I. Ouvertüre. Masque
II. Aus Kaschtschejs Leben
III. Vaudeville
IV. Jamais… (Elegie)
V. Rondo-Chase
VI. Glockenspiel
VII. Finale. Masque

Michael Kieran Harvey: 48 Fugues for Frank Zappa No.6: G-Spot Tornado (2009) (5 min)

Igor Stravinsky: Trois Mouvements de Pétrouchka
I. Danse Russe
II. Chez Pétrouchka
III. La Semaine grasse