Musica Viva Festival 2017 - Concert 6

Sunday 23 April 2017

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

1 Conservatorium Road, Sydney

Proudly supported by the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, experience four full days of the Musica Viva Festival.

Fernande Decruck’s Sonata is the best-known of her many works for saxophone, its melodic inventiveness reflecting her Parisian studies as well as her years in America. It is one of three works in this concert which are completely new to Musica Viva’s stages, alongside George Crumb’s Little Suite (performed by his friend Lambert Orkis) and the world premiere of a string octet by young Adelaide composer and cellist, Jakub Jankowski. In the midst, like the chamber music monument it is, stands Beethoven’s glorious ‘Archduke’ Trio.


DECRUCK Sonata in C-sharp major for alto saxophone and piano
Performed by Amy Dickson (saxophone) and Amir Farid (piano)

BEETHOVEN Piano Trio in B-flat major, op 97 ‘Archduke’
Performed by Zukerman Trio

CRUMB A Little Suite for Christmas, A.D. 1979
Performed by Lambert Orkis (piano)

JANKOWSKI String Octet (World Premiere)*
Performed by Goldner String Quartet and Elias Quartet

*Commissioned with support from Australian Executor Trustees Community Program.

Subscribe today at or call 1800 688 482

Single tickets on sale 10 January 2017 at