Conservatorium Association Chamber Music Competition 2017

Congratulations to the many Con students who competed in the Conservatorium Association Chamber Music Competition on the weekend. It was a hard task for our esteemed judges – Timothy Matthies (Musica Viva), Rosamund Plummer (Sydney Symphony Orchestra) and Phillip Shovk (SCM) – to choose the winners.

1st Prize ($4000), Pietra String Quartet (pictured) – Anna Da Silva Chen and Benjamin Tjoa (violins), Justin Julian (viola), Miles Mullin-Chivers (cello)

2nd Prize ($2000), Piano Trio – Anthony Chen (piano), Annabelle Traves (violin) and Miles Mullin-Chivers (cello)

Woodwind Prize ($1000), Luxum Saxophone Quartet – Alice Morgan, Sam Weller, Carlo Antonioli and Tom Spencer

Highly Commended ($1000), Quintet Vivo – James Julian (clarinet), Kate Mostert (oboe), Kathryn Ramsay (flute), Tiger Chou (bassoon) and Eve McEwen (horn)

Highly Commended ($1000), Hutcheson Piano Trio – Alexander Yau (piano), Brian Horg (violin) and Nicholas Kennedy (cello)

Highly Commended ($1000), Jazz Quartet –  Jack Lincoln (trombone), Matt Harris (piano), Oscar Peterson (double bass), Chloe Kim (drums).