Con staff and alumni finalists in the 2017 Art Music Awards

Congratulations to a number of Sydney Conservatorium of Music staff and alumni who have been announced today as finalists in the 2017 Art Music Awards. The Awards celebrate the best in contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music.

Finalists from the Conservatorium include:

Vocal / Choral Work of the Year

  • Paul Stanhope – Agnus Dei (Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep)
  • Liza Lim – Tree of Codes
  • Composers: Andrew Ford, Elena Kats-Chernin, Richard Tognetti and Carl Vine and more – With Love and Fury  (Katie Noonan and the Brodsky Quartet)

Instrumental Work of the Year

  • Liza Lim – How Forests Think
  • Jessica Wells – Moon Fire

Orchestral Work of the Year

  • Ross Edwards – Frog and Star Cycle: double concerto for alto saxophone, percussion and orchestra
  • Andrew Ford – Raga: for electric guitar and orchestra
  • Elena Kats-Chernin – The Witching Hour

Performance of the Year

  • Paul Stanhope – Agnus Dei (Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep)
    Adelaide Chamber Singers
  • Jane Stanley – Cerulean Orbits
    Benjamin Beilman and Andrew Tyson
  • Yitzhak Yedid – Piano Concerto
    Michael Kieran Harvey

The 2017 Art Music Awards will be presented at a gala event in Sydney on Tuesday 22 August at the City Recital Hall. Staged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre (AMC), the ceremony will be hosted by ABC presenter Simon Marnie. Gabriella Smart will return to curate the live performance element for the event.

Brett Cottle, APRA AMCOS Chief Executive said: “Australia’s art music community is creating and presenting extraordinary work. We’re thrilled to be partnering with the AMC on the 7th Art Music Awards, and I congratulate all the 2017 finalists.”