Composing Women 2018-2019 Participants Announced

2016-2017 Composing Women participants working with the Goldner String Quartet

Four postgraduate research students have been named as the 2018-2019 Composing Women participants. Successful applicants Peggy Polias (DMA), Bree van Reyk (MMus), Georgia Scott (MMus), Josephine Macken (MMus) will be mentored by Professor Liza Lim, as well as members of the Sydney Conservatorium of Music’s outstanding composition unit. Peggy Polias and Bree van Reyk have won Australian government RTP scholarships and Georgia Scott and Josephine Macken are awarded the Sydney Conservatorium of Music scholarship of $10,000.

‘Diversity is the lifeblood of a strong culture’, Professor Lim says. ‘The Conservatorium’s program is about fostering cultural vibrancy by elevating the work of women composers through some fantastic professional opportunities. I’m thrilled to welcome this new cohort of composers each of whom brings a distinctive artistic approach to their work.’

The students will have opportunities to work closely with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Sydney Chamber Opera (in collaboration with NIDA) and internationally acclaimed flautist Claire Chase, as well as develop their own projects. Participants will have their compositions workshopped and performed across the two-year period. Further professional development also forms a part of the program, with mentoring in administrative and production skills provided by organisations including Musica Viva Australia, APRA AMCOS, the Australian Music Centre and ABC Classic FM.

This two-year development program for women in composition was established by Professor Matthew Hindson AM and launched in 2016. Participants in the inaugural program were able to work with the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Sydney Philharmonia Choirs, Goldner String Quartet and percussionist Claire Edwardes.

This program is made possible with the generous assistance of our partners and through the Patrons of the Composing Women Program.